• Q: What drove you to take such an alternative path from your peers so early on in life?

    Q: At sixteen you co-founded One Million Lights Philippines. What drove you to take such an alternative path from your peers so early on in life?

    A: I wanted a way to help people in my community and thought I could do more than what the opportunities available to me let me do.  Also there was something intriguing about starting something on our own. It had its own pull.  I guess it was the uncertainty of what the outcome of our actions would be that drove us as well to push for this project. In the process of putting things together, I also saw the uncertainty as an opportunity to learn new things that staying in my comfort zone couldn't possibly teach me.

    Growing up, I had been exposed to volunteering in medical missions, typhoon relief, and the usual school charities and activities. I had always wanted to play key roles in these projects, but as a kid, I was never afforded these positions, after all who would give someone so young a lot of responsibilities. I was left to believe that in order to make a difference in the lives of others, I must be older. This mentality changed for me when I was 16 years old. I attended the Global Young Leaders Conference (GYLC) 2011 in New York. I guess I met a lot of people my age who I was shocked to find out were doing so many great things for their community and for some in distant countries. This made me realize that I didn't have to be older to help other people. Coming home from this conference, I decided to look for an initiative that would allow me to help others in a way that I not only enjoyed, but also made a lasting impact.


  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: